Literacy Curriculum.

National curriculum framework for literacy.

Stories with familiar settings.

Character profiling.

Using the library.

Some work on story sequencing and recalls.

Story writing practice.

Flow charts and writing instructions.

My son created his own game, complete with written instructions.

General work on building confidence and English language/grammar.

We incorporated how to make wudu into this section of non-fiction learning. My son created a flow chart with instructions on how to make wudu/ablution.

We used space to learn about writing information texts.

We used space to learn about how to write a non chronological report. I incorporated IT by encouraging my son to type out certain paragraphs of his wok and play around with font styles and colours.

Non chronological reports.

The Solar System.


SATS Practice papers for literacy and numeracy. Download free printable at

Writing support on the wall.

Our literacy framework is almost entirely the national curriculum, although I do use learning aids and texts that I feel my children will enjoy more instead of the standard texts schools would use.

The national curriculum for literacy is broken down into roughly 11 units, 4 units for Narrative, 4 units for Non Fiction and 3 units for poetry.
Each unit is then broken down into weeks of study but, remember that homeschooling may mean you manage to get through a unit much faster.

Further information and teaching ideas can be found by clicking on each study unit (link can be found in the resources section on this website main menu).

Some examples of work for the literacy units are attached. My 7 year old son really enjoyed the non-fiction section of the literacy curriculum and so we found ourselves spending more time on this area and adapting it to his interests.